Loving yourself selfishly

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone, I hope everyone has had a lovely day today and if not I hope and pray that it gets better.

I’m sure I’m not the only person on this earth that’s single on Valentine’s Day, but how many can actually say that they’re okay with that status? I am but that’s not what this blog post is about. I’m writing to explain my meaning of loving yourself selfishly.

Selfish is a strong word that can be used negatively or positively. In this case it’s positive. I believe loving yourself is very important and you should always make it a priority, because if you’re not happy how do you expect others…and you see there? Already, I’m not loving myself selfishly because I’m still considering others feelings and I’m not saying you shouldn’t but if I have to control my emotions just to make someone else feel a certain way emotionally, truly how much energy and positivity am I putting into my own happiness?

If it’s hard for you to put yourself first, loving yourself 100%, and truly being selfish with your wants and needs emotionally and mentally then I would suggest a tip that I use which is make a list of things you do that always make you compromise I order to please others and then make a list of how can you change the narrative. I’ll provide a list of things that I did in the past that made me compromise in order to please others:

1. Always agreeing when I didn’t want too.

2. Bottling my true feelings because I didn’t want to hurt someone.

3. Always being available even when I craved solitude

4. Always being there

And although I still do some of the things that’s on that list, it’s not making me compromise because I do it seldom and I do it for those who truly love me just as much as I love myself. Those four on my list shouldn’t be used for anyone toxic because you will be used and abused emotionally and mentally because a toxic person doesn’t have love for themselves so how do you expect them to love you?

I hope this post is relatable and Valentine’s Day is almost over but it’s never to late to start loving yourself. If you’re alone tonight, pick up a pen and some paper or type away on your phone or keyboard and make that list and while you’re at it make a list of wants and needs that you have that haven’t been met and began to work on it.

Published by Diamondlwrites

I'm an aspiring author and personal blogger. I started blogging in January of 2019 and I've been enhancing my creative writing skills for over three years. I enjoy sharing my experiences, ideas, and lifestyle with the online community. My goal is to grow creatively, as well as, connect with others who shares the same goals and interest as I do. I’m currently working on a short story which I will submit some of my favorite publishing companies. Creating my own line of Journals, planners, and notebooks is my next project. My saying is speak it, believe it, dream it, work hard for it.

Leave a comment